One more hug

Yesterday, on my lunch break, I went to FedKids to visit Charlie. Lunchtime play is our usual routine, but we haven’t actually done our usual routine since he went to the hospital more than two weeks ago. So yesterday he fought sleep at his usual 11 o’clock naptime, and when I walked in at 1:30 he had just drifted off. My baby tends to sleep for only 30-45 minutes at a time. So I went out for a muffin and came back to rest my eyes until he woke up. He wiggled. He whimpered a bit. He rolled over. He didn’t wake up. An hour passed and he was still asleep. I had to put on my shoes and return to the office. I cried a little as I left.

For the past two weeks, we’ve spent a lot of time together. First at the hospital, then rediscovering the city in winter. To not be able to relax in the playroom with him at lunch was hard. I missed him like crazy–the scent of his hair, his funny smile, his chubby arms wrapped around my neck. Everyone always says, when they see my cute boy, ‘Enjoy it while it lasts’ or ‘They grow up so quick.’ I know. No one has to tell me. He grows and changes every day. And I want as many hugs as I can get before he decides hugging his mama isn’t cool any more. So, I left work a little early to get some extra hugs in before bedtime.

When I picked him up, however, he was mad at me. It might be self-centered of me, or maybe I’m projecting, but it sure seemed like he had missed me too. He didn’t understand that he’d been asleep when I stopped by. All he knew was that he hadn’t seen me all day. His frosty glare clearly said, “And where the heck have you been, lady?” He turned his head away, and I had to talk with him for five minutes before he reluctantly forgave me and reached his arms out to go home.

Today, at lunchtime, we have a date for hugs and stacking blocks. In that order.

One Response to “One more hug”

  1. April Says:

    Hey Stace,
    Just wanted you to know how much I enjoy reading your blog and seeing you and Charlie experience the world together. It reminds me of my own little boys and how much they’ve changed in 11 and 6 years.

    Don’t worry, they both still love hugs, just not in front of their friends!

Leave a Reply

