Daddy Mama

Charlie knows the word Daddy. When we hear the keys in the door and I say, “I hear Daddy,” he lights up with a smile. When I ask, “Where’s Daddy?,” CW looks right at Jesse. But when he calls for Daddy, he says, “Mama!”

The other day, we were all in the kitchen, working on the Daddy-Mama problem. Jesse laid in the floor and I sat at the table while CW was in his high chair.

“Where’s Mama?” I’d ask. Charlie would look at me and I would do a happy dance and say, “Yes!”

“Where’s Daddy?” I’d ask. Charlie would look at Jesse who would wave his hands and say, “Yes!”

We repeated this for at least five minutes until all of us were tired of the game. Then Charlie reached his hands out for Jesse and said… “Mama!”

One Response to “Daddy Mama”

  1. sofia Says:

    So funny! Molly still stumbles over daddy-mama, often mixing them up or saying one then the other (as in, “mama! … dada!”) I take it as affirmation of her strong connection to both of us. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

