In memory of Aunt Lonie

lonie
Lonie S. Stewart, May 13, 1916-Nov. 10, 2007

Aunt Lonie wasn’t an everyday fixture in my life, but her spirit had a long influence. My mother said Aunt Lonie was like her second mom. For me, I loved knowing Aunt Lonie could hold her own. She made me think that one day I might be able to hold my own, too. She lived independently in rural Georgia in a small white house surrounded by cotton fields. She tended her garden, her family and attended her church. She had a quick smile, a strong hug and the ability to live in the Georgia summers without air conditioning. Jesse, who has his own issues with AC, says this alone is a sign of her integrity and strength. 🙂

Aunt Lonie made a lasting impression on those who knew her. She will be missed.

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “In memory of Aunt Lonie”

  1. Nanny Says:

    SO TRUE!!!

  2. Lynn Bryant Says:

    Stacy, through all my tears, I thank you. I couldn’t stop the tears when I saw this. My Mom certainly was a “Special Lady”. Your words are much appreciated! Love Ya! Lynn

Leave a Reply

