The letter W

Do you have a favorite letter of the alphabet? I’m personally fond of S, because it begins my name. I also like J, which makes me think of my hubbie. But these relate to personal history, which a toddler doesn’t really have. So how does a two-year-old pick a favorite letter?

Whatever the process, Charlie has picked W.

It’s in his middle name, but I don’t think he knows that. Maybe it’s that he can recognize it, although that came after he insisted on inserting W into the alphabet song between every other letter.

A and B have their uses, I suppose, but W has stolen the show.

Yesterday, as we walked home, we passed a wine store.

“W! W, Mama!” Charlie said.

Sure enough, there was a big W in the sign for wine. Then later that evening I gave him a New York magazine to peruse. He likes the pictures—or so I thought.

“W! W, Mama!”

Yes, he was pointing to the title of the magazine, in the masthead. It was tiny type! But he found the W.

Maybe Charlie asked for the magazine because he wanted to read it!

Tags: , , , , ,

2 Responses to “The letter W”

  1. Jonathan Says:

    He can love W as long as he doesn’t like Dubya. You don’t think he could be a young Republican?

  2. samirakhanhadi Says:

    your post is so funny…I just posted my love affair with the alphabet myself!

Leave a Reply

