A wild and crazy summer

It’s been forever since I’ve posted, and I have many excuses. Instead of those, I’ll give you the rundown of what we’ve been up to for the last several weeks:

–Issues with daycare. They ate up every spare moment during my work week and filled my brain to its emotional capacity. One week, I had a meeting there for every single day. When I have more time, I will write about the specifics. For now, I’m just happy that Charlie is relatively settled into a new class with older kids. He’s making new friends and learning new songs and ideas. His first full day was yesterday, and it went well.

–Vacation. We had a wonderful June road trip, stopping in Baltimore, MD; High Cove, NC; Asheville, NC; Seveierville, TN; and the Shenandoah National Park. Pictures and stories to come later. Promise.

–Work. Lots of work at my office, to prepare for the aforementioned vacation, and then lots of freelance work, to pay for the aforementioned vacation.

–Acting insane. The other night very loud music blasted through our open windows, waking up Jesse, who then woke me up. It was 3:30 am, and I am not beautiful, kind, nor coherent at that hour. I saw the culprit—a car. I put on some shoes and traipsed downstairs. [WARNING: Mom, don’t read this next part. I gave myself a heart attack.] I saw a drunk Mexican man in the car, asleep. I knocked on the window. Of course he couldn’t hear me over the music. I opened the car door and shook his shoulder. (I did confirm that he was drooling and buckled in first, which in no way makes my actions less loony.) I told him to turn down the music or I would call the police. He didn’t throw a punch or pull out a gun, both of which could have happened. A fact I didn’t realize until I woke up the next morning and thought, “Man, I’m an idiot.” Instead, he drooled some more and lolled his head to the side. I called the police. They came in less than 15 minutes and the music stopped. Next time, I’ll just call the police.

–Yoga. To keep me from missing kung fu too much and to try and get my muscles back in shape for summer biking, hiking, and swimming, I signed up for a local yoga class, which I’m now attending twice a week. Can’t say I’m down with the “namaste”-spiritual side of it, but the teacher has a talent for correcting postures and allowing students to move at their own pace. I can now stay in plank-pose, which we did in kung fu, for a minute once again. Go, abdominals! And, I can also once again run a half-mile or more without keeling over from lack of oxygen. I’m not sure exactly how far I can run because I hate running, but it’s a useful skill for catching late airplanes and runaway toddlers.

–Summer. There’s, like, totally too much stuff to do in the city in the summer! I have a very long list of things like mini-golf on Governor’s Island and swimming at Lake Minnewaska, and the list doesn’t include the things Charlie and I do every week: going to the library, the playground, the pool, the park, the zoo, the store, and the laundromat. (He’s become very adept at putting wet clothes into the dryer! A very useful skill.)

With two more summer trips coming up before Labor Day and lots of lazy days in between, I don’t expect to be blogging every day. However, I will do my best to post more often since my husband and my mother say they check out cdubs “all the time.” Also, I will do my best not to attack any more drunk Mexican men at 3:30 in the morning.

Happy summer!

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “A wild and crazy summer”

  1. Slick Says:

    The dude was passed out in his car in front of your house with his stereo blaring???

    Daaaang, yeah…sounds like he was crazy. Stick with your plan about next time….call the cops first, ask questions later. 🙂

Leave a Reply

