Ew, ew, ew

This afternoon, I had what then seemed like a good idea. Charlie and I would take the F train to Coney Island. It was 4 pm on a summer Tuesday. I thought it would be less crowded. I imagined we would find a little spot to build sand castles and play with the waves.

Sure enough, it was less crowded. But less isn’t saying much, I learned.

And the beach….

EW!

Plastic bottles, metal bottle caps, plastic caps, plastic utensils, old chip sacks, cigarette butts, and loads and loads of broken glass, in every color. I tried not to notice anything nastier, though I’m sure it was there.

We found a tiny, relatively clean spot, but Charlie—as I had imagined—was eager to run around the beach, exploring everything. The water line was muddy and littered with who knows what. The stuff he kept picking up was so gross…he had a grand time, but I was completely stressed out, imagining all the deadly diseases lingering in this trash midden of a beach.

Needless to say, we didn’t stay long.

Next time, we’ll stick to shooting the freak and watching the bumper cars when we go to Coney Island. As for finding a clean and enjoyable beach near NYC that doesn’t require a car, well, maybe next year.

Tags: , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Ew, ew, ew”

  1. Millie Says:

    Hey there, We met feeding the ducks with the kids one day. HI!! I just wanted to tell you to walk over to Coney Island Avenue and hop on the B68 bus and ride it all the way down to Brighton Beach. It is the last stop, I believe and you will not be sorry. The sand is much cleaner and I’ve never seen a muddy shoreline there. Oh, and there are playgrounds in the sand, so it is cool when you need a break from the water. Also, it is in the middle of lots of shopping, so you can walk around and find someplace nice to eat afterwards. I’ve taken the kids there each year since living in our ‘hood. Have fun!

  2. Cevillia Says:

    Millie,
    Thanks for the tip! I will definitely check out Brighton Beach. Maybe if this tropical weather keeps up, I’ll try it out next week. I think the water is closed for swimming, but we might still be able to do sand castles.

Leave a Reply

