A dozen stitches

Look at my bruiser.

Monday morning, at about 6 am, Charlie was running from the bathroom back to the bedroom when he tripped and landed on the corner of our wooden bed frame, with his forehead.

It bled. A lot.

The cut was so deep I couldn’t bear to look at it without wincing.

So we took him to the ER, where he was a very cooperative patient, up until the surgeon began stitching his head. (I can’t say as I blame him, surgeons are notorious for their poor bedside manner. This one was no different. He kept saying, “It’s okay. It’s okay.” as blood spewed from my baby’s forehead. That was so not okay.)

He got four deep stitches and eight exterior stitches. He had a black eye and a swollen “boo-boo” that gave him a headache.

But he was up for donuts soon after the stitches, and hasn’t complained at all about changing his bandage once daily (at least).

That’s my bruiser.

Of course, now my heart beats way too fast every time he runs, even when it’s in the middle of an open green field, like this afternoon.

I had to bite my tongue to keep from yelling, “Don’t run!” Because the park, of all places, is the place to run.

I hope we both recover from those stitches.

Tags:

2 Responses to “A dozen stitches”

  1. IanMaddox Says:

    Hi. How did it turn out once the stitches came out? My 17 mo. old just had two stitches removed today after pulling a stocking holder down onto his face below his eye. I’m really concerned now b/c his skin is raised and red a little around the cut. Ugh, my active 4 1/2 hasn’t had any stitches, I didn’t think it would happen to my not so active 17 mo. old 🙂 Thanks!

    • Cevillia Says:

      He doesn’t have much of a scar. It was red for a while, but the doctor said the redness would fade over the span of a year. With just two stitches, your 17 month-old probably won’t have much of a scar, either.

Leave a Reply

