Our favorite thing about election day

Every evening before bed, Charlie and I “talk about the day.” We go over what we did, what we saw and how we felt about it. Then we talk about our favorite parts. He often says his favorite part is “the bunnies and turtles”—even when we haven’t made a trip to the pet store that day. But sometimes he surprises me by choosing new things, like “saying ‘Woah, Daddy'” when we rented a Mini-Cooper for a Sunday drive in honor of Jesse’s birthday. That thing has pick-up; Charlie and I were both backseat drivers.

Yesterday, we went over the day’s events: storytime, new library books, voting, the playground, pizza for lunch, and a bike ride to the zoo.

Charlie said his favorite part was “voting for Barack Obama.”

I liked that part, too.

But my favorite part was when Obama won.

Tags: , , , ,

One Response to “Our favorite thing about election day”

  1. Jonathan Says:

    I have always tried to take my daughter to vote with me every chance I get, so I can really appreciate this story. It is hard to believe we went from “Yes We Can” to “Yes We Did”, but I am getting used to it.

Leave a Reply

