Just writing about the good parts

I’m halfway to figuring out the camera for this new computer, and this has inspired me to write a bit today.

I have kept notes about little things Charlie has done, ways that he’s grown. All of it is cute, and sweet, and stuff I want to remember when he’s taller than I am.

But I can’t help noticing that it’s usually only the good stuff that makes it to the computer screen. Not the moments of panic, or aggravation, or sheer rage. This stuff happens, but I guess I am still too Gen X to share it all with the world. At least not until I can process it for myself.

I have to remember: Terrible thoughts do not mean terrible actions. (Charlie and I both have been learning self-control.)

What is it they say? Look to what someone does, not what they say? I can take comfort in that.

But my terrible thoughts do mean that this parenting gig is not all smiles, hugs, and gushy kisses—even if those happen to be the parts I like to remember.

Sometimes family can make you see the worst in yourself, even if you don’t want to look.

Tags: ,

One Response to “Just writing about the good parts”

  1. novice101 Says:

    “Sometimes family can make you see the worst in yourself, even if you don’t want to look.”

    It still okay because these are also learning experiences and our family members are in these situations playing the role of our ‘teachers’.

    Happy bonding!

Leave a Reply

