Big Bird’s Birthday Bash

Big Bird birthday

I took Charlie to Big Bird’s Birthday Bash today.

He’s been asking about returning to Sesame Place since it closed for the season in October. So when I saw this special event, right around Charlie’s own birthday, I made the plan.

It was a lunch, with birthday favors and lots of character interaction, a show and all the carousel rides you could handle.

We had a nice drive down and back. And Charlie’s face, his excitement, the stories he told and made up and rehashed…well, all of it was worth every penny spent and every minute spared to make the trip happen.

It was like those Disney World commercials that always make me cry. Except it was my kid.

Two funny bits from today:

CW: “Snuffy is 200!”
Me: “200 years old? That’s so old!”
CW: “Yeah! 200! That’s what my tape measure says.”

Five minutes down the highway, headed home from Sesame Place.
CW: “Where is Sesame Place?”
Me: “Back that way a little bit.”
CW: “No. Where is it?”
Me: “Langhorne, Pennsylvania.”
CW: “But where? I want to know because I want to drive there when I get old.”
Me, thinking about him being older and still wanting to go there–it could happen: “Don’t worry. When you can drive, you will know how to read a map and I’ll give you directions.”

Leave a Reply

